The PCA Blog - New England

Three Cheers for Sports Done Right


Angela Cao (pictured below), Positive Coaching Alliance (PCA), and the young athletes reached through PCA’s Triple-Impact Competitor workshop series are all thankful.

Angela is a senior at The John D. O’Bryant School for Mathematics and Science in Roxbury, Massachusetts, a SquashBusters leader, and a PCA Triple-Impact Competitor Scholarship Winner. Angela is gracious and appreciative of the opportunity she has had to grow and become a new, more confident person through her involvement in sports and as a part of the caring SquashBusters community. Angela understands the importance of mastery, hard work, and leadership.

PCA is a nonprofit committed to kids like Angela Cao, kids who experience and appreciate the power of sports done right to shape who they are. PCA is thankful for the support of the Chevy Dealers of New England, CBS EcoMedia, and WBZ-TV/CBS Boston. That support enabled PCA to reach more than 2,000 young athletes across New England with the message that done right, sports teach character, leadership, grit, resilience, teamwork, and so much more.

The young athletes who participated in the Triple-Impact Competitor Workshop Series shared that they too were thankful for the opportunity to learn more about how to become better athletes, teammates, leaders, and people. In their own words:

“I am really thankful for this conversation because it changed my perspective in a positive way” 

“Thank you for motivating and inspiring me”

“I feel lucky to have had this opportunity”


Note: Angela Cao is one of six young athletes selected to receive PCA-NE Triple-Impact Competitor Scholarships in 2019. All six will be honored at PCA’s spring fund-raiser JEANS + JERSEYS.

The six 2019 PCA–NE Triple-Impact Competitor Scholarship winners are: MEGAN BAUMAN of East Lyme High School in Connecticut, ANGELA CAO of the John D. O’Bryant School of Mathematics and Science in Roxbury, MEGHAN CURRAN of Foxboro High School, MATTHEW FREITAS of Catholic Memorial High School, IJAHMAN MORGAN of the Springfield Renaissance School, and HUNTER WHITBECK of Acton-Boxborough Regional High School. Watch for more about our winners!

Stay connected